LeBoeuf named to endowed professorship

  • January 3, 2023
  • By Anjan Thakor
  • 2 minute read

I have exciting news about our faculty member Robyn LeBoeuf, co-vice dean of faculty and research and professor of marketing.

Professor LeBoeuf has been appointed as the Joyce and Chauncy Buchheit Distinguished Professor in recognition of her contributions and leadership in research and teaching. She received her PhD in psychology from Princeton University in 2002. After joining Olin Business School in 2014 as an associate professor, she was appointed a full professor in 2019 and was appointed vice dean of faculty and research in April 2022. Most of Professor LeBoeuf’s research includes consumer behavior, judgment and decision-making, behavioral decision theory, intertemporal choice and gift giving.

Her papers have been published in top psychology and marketing journals such as the Journal of Consumer Psychology, the Journal of Marketing Research, the Journal of Consumer Research, the Journal of Personality and Social Psychology and Organizational Behavior and Human Decision Processes. 

In 2002, she was the recipient of the Hillel Einhorn New Investigator Award, and she has received numerous other accolades in the years since, including the Emerson Excellence in Teaching Award, the Poets & Quants List of Top 50 Undergraduate Business Professors in the World and many others.

Distinguished professorship established in 2021

The Joyce and Chauncy Buchheit Distinguished Professorship at Olin Business School was established in 2021. Joyce Buchheit also established the Joyce and Chauncy Buchheit Professorship in Public Health and funded a summer college prep program dedicated to prospective students from rural Missouri and southern Illinois.

Joyce Buchheit was born in Missouri’s Arcadia Valley and attended 14 schools in her youth. She enrolled at Washington University as a married mother of two children, receiving a bachelor’s degree in business administration from Washington University in St. Louis in 1976 and an MBA in 1977.

Joyce Buchheit served on WashU’s Board of Trustees from 2011 to 2016, when she became an emerita trustee. She is a member of the School of Medicine National Council and the Institute for Public Health National Council, which she led from 2018 to 2021.

Please join me in congratulating Professor Robyn LeBoeuf. We will have a formal installation ceremony at a later date.

About the Author

Anjan Thakor

Anjan Thakor

Anjan Thakor, the John E. Simon Professor of Finance, assumed the position of interim dean of WashU Olin Business School on July 1, 2022. He is also the director of Doctoral Programs and the Wells Fargo Advisors Center for Finance and Accounting Research. He joined WashU Olin in 2003 and since that time has served many roles and contributed greatly to the field of finance. His research and teaching interests include corporate finance, financial intermediation and the economics of asymmetric information.

Contact Us

For assistance in finding faculty experts, please contact Washington University Public Affairs.

Monday–Friday, 8:30 to 5 p.m.

Sara Savat, Senior News Director, Business and Social Sciences


Kurt Greenbaum,
Communications Director

Twitter: WUSTLnews